Lifestyle Changes

My main workstation, one of my two desks, my other one is a desk for my desktop.

My main workstation, one of my two desks, my other one is a desk for my desktop.

It is a pretty common thing to hear people say that they want to change their lifestyle in order to become more productive, healthier, etc. I am a lot like that, I am always looking for new ways to better myself, so I self evaluate and see what I think needs to be changed in order for me to get better, whether it be heavier weights for my workouts, or perhaps more studying/reviewing time, or even, reorganizing my room so that is in the perfect set up for increased productivity. You see I really want to do well in school, so this year I am working as hard as I possibly can to be more productive and get better grades, I do not care how hard I have to work, or even what I have to give up, I am making no compromises with anything anymore, and so far so good, I have already improved a lot, and I feel a lot better now than before. I always used to be on the computer playing games with my friends and things like that, I have stopped doing that in order to maximize the amount of time I can spend on my work, which is almost 100% right now, not including sleep of course, but even when I am on my breaks, I am still working, for example reading my book for English, which I am 240 pages in at this point in time, or working out, which I am trying to get back into doing everyday again, so not only will I be smarter, but also stronger, too. The reason why I feel this kind of urgency to do better is because I really want good for myself and I have not really been doing well in school the past couple of years, but I know that I can do amazing I just needed to work on it, which I have been doing. This is possibly the first time in my life that I have been working this hard all around and it feels really good, tiring, yes, but good nonetheless. This year I have some very interesting courses (which I will definitely be blogging about in the future), and some really amazing teachers, which further compliment the courses and because of this, I try to push myself to really learn about these things, I even do secondary research and actually end up teaching my teachers, which is a really great confidence boost. And many of the things that I am learning about in school currently has affected the way I think like Philosophy, which is actually a major part of all of the things I am learning in school right now for example:

  • in Canadian and International Law, I learned about natural law, in which the philosophers believed that humans are naturally good, and did not need laws to regulate them, however positive law is the exact opposite, the positive law philosophers believed that humans are terrible creatures and they must have laws to regulate them, Thomas Hobbes is even quoted as saying that human life is: “solitary, poor, nasty, brutish, and short.”
  • in West and the World, we talk about how the ideas of the philosophers, from thousands of years before sparked the Renaissance/or Rebirth of the Western World, which lead to the Age of Enlightenment, which made people start to wonder things and ask more questions as well as try to answer them.

My English teacher, Mr. Santin is a really great teacher, he told us that we should do things that we like for we do not know what the future holds, and he showed us a TEDtalk, and further explained that so much as changed in the past 5 years, who is to say what will happen in the next 5 years? So we should do things that we enjoy doing no matter what others, namely our parents say. He even used the example of the creator of Cats, explaining that they were looked down upon and everything like that, and they ended up being extremely successful. While education is our passport to the future, it is simply one path among many paths that we will walk along in our lifetime.

Leave a Reply

