My Grandmother

We all have that one person who is always there for us, one that we can always count on to talk to and help you with your problems, or even rant to if needed. It seems as though you absolutely need them in your life, and it seems as though you shutter to think what would happen if you did not have them anymore, in fact, chances are, you do not want to think about it. For me that would be my Grandmother on my mom’s side, I can always count on her to be there for moral support, to lend a helping hand, or even to just listen to me. My mom was a single parent when I was growing up and she worked very hard to provide for my sister and I. When I was growing up, my mom had went back to school to receive a higher education, so she was unavailable to take care of me. Because of this I was raised by my grandmother and my schizophrenic uncle, both of whom I love very much. But my grandmother is someone whom is always available to help me, to talk to me, to make me feel good. My grandma does everything there is to do and more. She is a diabetic and an amputee, but she goes out of her way, no matter how hard it is for her, just to help me, like I remember when I was sick, she would offer to help me, tell me remedies, and she even made me ginger tea, which is a homemade, Jamaican remedy for having a cold. Since she is an amputee, we should be the ones taking care of her, not the other way around, but the thing about my grandma is that she will always help someone in need and she teaches us to do the same, she would literally give the clothes off of her back to help someone. She has been through a lot in life, she has told me so many stories about her life and I really like listening to them, but whenever I hear I feel sad to know that she went through that kind of abuse and hardship at the hands of her grandaunt, but she endured all of those horrible things, and she is still here today. Sometimes I wonder what it would be like if she were to die, and whenever I get these thoughts, an extreme sadness comes over me, as you could probably imagine. However as I got older, I started to view death in a positive light, as though one would no longer feel any pain and sorrow, so I was able to desensitize myself to these thoughts, but I know that when the time does come, I will be absolutely devastated and I would never be the same ever again.

Leave a Reply

