My Procedure

In my last blog, I mentioned that I have formulated my own procedure for writing. Well here it is:

(disclaimer: this takes A LOT of time and it may not work for you)

  1. I formulate my main idea.
  2. I start to make supporting points.
  3. I build on those supporting points.
  4. (I may not have mentioned this but I split up my main points and work on each individually)
  5. Then I review it and make changes.
  6. Yeah… I continuously make changes.

So I’ll explain each step for you. When I am formulating my main idea, I do a lot of research on the topic in order to get a deeper understanding. With this deeper understanding, I make a bunch of point, which I decide which ones are most important, and then I revise them to fit my main idea. Once that is done, I use my research to build on my supporting parts individually, and I revise them over and over. Then I move through them and make sure that they flow, and then I put them together. After that, I review it more and more and I add more things, rinse and repeat. This takes a lot of time depending on how long what I am writing about is, it can take anywhere from 30 minutes, to 6 hours, and even more sometimes.

Leave a Reply

